Historic Preservation Commission


This commission is a voice for historic preservation through efforts on educational programs/events, supporting projects that enhance historical resources through access to grants, and maintaining an inventory of historic resources in Cedar Falls.  As a Certified Local Government, Cedar Falls’ Historic Preservation Commission implements the program requirements issued by the State of Iowa to maintain that status.

The Historic Preservation Commission was established by Section 2-343 of the City Code. The Historic Preservation Commission typically meets the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30pm at City Hall. All meetings are open to the public.

Public Records


Five members serve three-year terms:

  • Michael Mahncke - Term ends 03/31/2025
  • Jim O'Loughlin - Term ends 03/31/2025
  • Linda Roelofse - Term ends 03/31/2025
  • Julie Etheredge - Term ends 03/31/2026
  • Sally Timmer - Term ends 03/31/2026

City Staff Liaison

Apply for Appointment

Submit the General Application on the Boards & Commissions homepage, and check the checkbox for this board/commission. You’ll be notified when a board opening occurs for further consideration.