Our City Cedar Falls

Click to view updates from around our community and City department spotlights.

View All Posts

Sep 03

Cedar Falls Public Safety Recognition Event August 26, 2020

Posted on September 3, 2020 at 10:39 AM by Amanda Huisman

Chief Craig Berte

Each year, we enjoy celebrating the achievements and recognition of the Cedar Falls Public Safety team. Due to COVID-19, however, many of these traditional events were altered.

In an effort to continue to honor the brave men and women of our city, Cedar Falls hosted a small awards ceremony on August 26, 2020, at the Public Safety building. It welcomed family to celebrate milestones including graduations, promotions, and the CF Award of Excellence. For public health reasons, the event was socially-distanced outside in the apparatus bay (immediate family members were allowed together) and masks were in use when social distancing was not in place.

The honorees of the day included Public Safety Officers 
Carson Barron, Brandon Madsen, Adam Hancock, and Kevin Hernandez as the recipients of the Cedar Falls Award of Excellence in addition to the swearing in of new officers Caitlyn Ryan, John Kramer, and Maxton Ross. Newly appointed Cedar Falls Police Chief Craig Berte performed the Oath of Office, accompanied by his family members. The event celebrated 40 years of service from Fire Chief John Bostwick and Lieutenant Dan Brown and the promotion of TJ Taylor to Fire Captain and Zach Ladage to Public Safety Lieutenant. Recent graduates of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Tryston Adelmund, Ethan Schultzen, and Christian Baumgartner, as well as new Kirkwoood College Fire Academy graduate Maxon Ross, were also recognized. 

The ceremony was hosted by Public Safety Lieutenant Kari Rea with closing remarks from Cedar Falls Mayor Rob Green.

We thank the team for their service to our community!



You must log in before leaving your comment